The Joys of Public Transportation

When I was a child I caught a fleeting glimpse out of the corner of my eye; I turned to look but it was gone, I can not put my finger on it now.  The child is grown, the dream is gone…

There is something gloriously beautiful about gliding along on a bike at moderate speed while listening to Comfortably Numb.  I encourage you to try it.

So, I get around beyond the small bubble of my residence via public transportation.  I could list a multitude of reasons why.  Better for the environment, for example.  But the truth is, I don’t have my own car right now.  I’d much rather give myself a ride (PHRASING!) than ride the bus, I won’t lie.

BUT.  It does allow me to partake in a hobby of mine: people watching.  I’ve loved just watching people as long as I can remember. Having very light sensitive eyes means I tend to wear sunglasses a lot in public, so I’ve always used that to my hobbies advantage.

I have fun with it.  Trying to guess peoples stories (without falling in to stereotyping, which is bad, mmkay).  Sometimes I can’t help it, I mean, just about every day someone hops on board the bus simply reeking of weed, what else am I gonna think, ya know?

But where I’m really going with this is that I’ve started noticing someone who just sets off bells for me as a possible trans/gender fluid person.  She, and she’s obviously biologically female so that’s what I’m going with that, is a sign flipper outside a cell phone store at a major transfer stop along one of my routes.  At the very, very least, she’s a tomboy, but I’ve met plenty of tomboys that I didn’t get trans vibes from.  Hell, she might not even know it herself, but what the hell am I gonna do about it?  I’m liable to get pepper sprayed trying to talk to her (it would also, you know, entail me getting off the bus).

Where it leads me to think, is just how many people out there are really push the needle on the spectrum, completely unaware?  Hell, that was me for far too long myself.  What kind of world would it be if we weren’t so damn attached to the notion of the binary from biological, when our brains (and I mean that “our” in the most general sense) are obviously wired to vary wildly through the gender spectrum.

For instance, the societal construct that tells us MEN DON’T CRY.  What the hell for?  Crying is a natural biological response to physical and mental stimulus.  Denying men such a basic response based on stupid notions of masculinity versus femininity is, quite frankly, colossally stupid.  You’ve just emotionally stunted millions of men for what is basically a societal quirk.

A man doesn’t have to identify as anything other than a man, or a woman a woman, for this concept to take hold.  It simply allows for a basic understanding that just about everything gender related that isn’t biologically based is a societal construct. I’ll say it before, and I’ll say it again, what logical sense does it make that a woman can walk out of her house right now wearing what we consider men’s clothing and nobody would give a shit, but if I walk out of my house wearing what we consider female clothing everybody would lose their damn minds?  What about earrings?  Good god almighty, who comes up with these ever changing arbitrary gender “rules” on earrings?

That reminds me, I need to get my ears re-pierced.  I need to do a lot of things, that require money of which I do not have.  Crap on a cracker.

And on that note, I should probably evaporate for now.

About the ghost

Not quite what you think you see, in some ways more, in some ways less.
This entry was posted in Gender Issues and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Joys of Public Transportation

  1. I just listened to Comfortably Numb for the first time in my life. Great song! Thanks for the tip. 🙂

    Like

    • the ghost says:

      You’re quite welcome. The entire Pink Floyd album it comes from, The Wall, is pretty amazing. It’s a concept album (which if you don’t know what that means, it means the entire album tells a story beginning to end) about a rock star basically losing his mind. They made a really trippy movie out of it, too, but honestly, I’d recommend just the album. It’s a long listen (double album) but worth it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

