What A Ride (So far)

Roller coaster…of love…

What a night/morning/afternoon.  3 hours of it was spent sleeping.  The rest was talking with people about me being a girl.  And so far, it’s all been mind bogglingly positive.  I don’t expect that to last, I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop.  But even when it does, it’s not going to matter much.  The shield already formed around me from the love and support I’ve gotten in less than 24 hours will help me deflect the nay sayers.

I feel indescribable.  Elated.  Joyous.  Scared.  Liberated.  Free (that’s kind of redundant).  Glowy.  Generally emotional.  People I’ve known for years are calling me Sandi like its always been that way.  People are thrilled when they see the Facebook notification and it says that “she has replied to your post.”  And every time they tell me that, I squee.

I’m doing a lot of squee’ing.

SPAM4-8Squee

About the ghost

Not quite what you think you see, in some ways more, in some ways less.
This entry was posted in Chosen Name, Coming Out and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What A Ride (So far)

  1. Mara says:

    That is so incredible! Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So happy for you!! This happened for me, too, and I found myself tempted to think, “well, that’s gonna wear off…” well, maybe it will! But I’m similar– I know I have a shield of love around me from the people who matter. I love your positivity, and your decision to insulate yourself with people who care is going to do wonders for you. Very cool! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • the ghost says:

      The hilarious thing is that me and positivity do not honestly belong in the same sentence usually.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha! …maybe you’re learning more about yourself. Strangely enough, I’m becoming more comfortable with not being happy all the time, something I thought I had to do when I was perceived as a woman. I’m probably more negative now…but happier?! It’s funny how we evolv when we let our truth in. Such an amazing journey! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • the ghost says:

        Well, it’s not like I’m incapable of being positive. It’s just that normally I’m cynical. And I’m not going to stop being cynical. It’s just for this one thing, cynicism ain’t going to cut the mustard.

        It is screwy how perceived notions of gender roles do affect us, though. Like you mentioned, you felt you needed to be happy when perceived as a woman. I’ve always felt that I can get away with being a lot more blunt and broody because I’m perceived as male. And beyond “that’s just the way people see things” there’s no basis in biology for that, at all. Gender constructs are such a reflection on society.

        Like

      • the ghost says:

        What’s even funnier, really, is that I had this whole sort of line up of posts I was going to make to chronicle the way here and then I all of a sudden had this need to come out. It’s going to be weird going back to the original line of thinking.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Just do you! 🙂 It’ll sound more authentic that way.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on the big step! 😀 And I have to thank you, too. Today I’ve got cold feet awaiting my big day and your postive experience blew the fear off. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

